Community Action

Our Mission

Asking for help is hard. At Community Action, we do our best to help our customers feel respected and valued, and to make it easier to get the help needed. We provide personalized attention to each customer, allow families to make the decisions that are right for them, and automatically tell customers everything our agency may be able to do to help.

Interested in Getting Help at Community Action?

Our Promise

Community Action changes people’s lives, embodies the spirit of hope, improves communities, and makes America a better place to live.  We care about the entire community, and we are dedicated to helping people help themselves and each other.

Keeping That Promise

The Promise of Community Action is important because it reminds us of our mission and core values.  It tells everyone who works with us, who shares their journey out of poverty with us, and who entrusts us with precious resources, that we are SERIOUS about making positive changes and being a reliable community partner.

Helping move people from poverty towards prosperity since 1970.

Board of Directors

Our Governing Board serves as the voice of the people in North Central Kansas. The 27-member, volunteer group includes publicly elected officials, private sector interests, and people democratically selected by low-income in our service area.

Joe Hoytal – President

Kristine Hart – Vice President

Jennifer Sexson – Treasurer

Mary Thomas – Secretary

Jennifer Sexson
Thea Parks
Megan Shepard
Josephine Flowers-Salehar
Jesyca Hope
Manny Herron
Norma Avery
Meghann Chaudhry

Mary Thomas – Social Service Interests
Curtis Sneden – Private Business & Commerce Interests
Dora Coronel – Affordable Housingh Interests
Kathy Thurbon-Henry – Religion & Spirituality Interests
Katrina McGivern – Health Interests
Andre Negrete – Community and Minority Interests
Kristine Hart – Education Interests

Cynthia Hopp – representing Topeka Mayor De La Isla
Lt. John Trimble – representing Topeka Councilman Mike Padilla
Rosa Cavazos – Elected Education Representative
Ashley Lehman – representing State Rep. John Alcala
Joe Hoytal – representing Shawnee County Commissioner Bill Riphahn
Mary Stauffer – representing Geary County Commission
Robert Soria – representing Topeka Councilwoman Christina Valdivia-Alcala
Vicki Schmidt – Kansas Insurance Commissioner
Trae McPherson – representing Topeka Councilwoman Karen Hiller

Ready to take action?